Boston Press Photographers Association Annual Contests

2022 College Contest

Judging took place for the contest on April 20th, 2023, and the winners have been announced below. Thanks to all who entered and congratulations to the winners!

Here are the Rules and Guidelines for the 2022 Boston Press Photographers Association College Contest.

Best in Show

Ziyu Zhu / Boston University

01 News

1st. Ziyu Zhu / Boston University
2nd. Andrew Burke-Stevenson / Boston University
3rd. Ziyu Zhu / Boston University
HM1. Ziyu Zhu / Boston University
HM2. Ziyu Zhu / Boston University

02 Feature

1st. Andrew Burke-Stevenson / Boston University
2nd. Taylor Coester / Boston University
3rd. Maya Giron / Rochester Institute of Technology
HM. Maya Giron / Rochester Institute of Technology

03 Sports

1st. Dylan Goodman / Harvard University
2nd. Jonathan Ratner / Endicott College
3rd. Emma Purple / Endicott College
HM. Taylor Coester / Boston University

04 Portrait

1st. Maya Giron / Rochester Institute of Technology
2nd. Maya Giron / Rochester Institute of Technology
3rd. Amanda Siow / Boston University
HM. Devon Lewis / University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth

05 Story

1st. Taylor Coester / Boston University
2nd. Ben Cammarata / Harvard University
3rd. Ben Cammarata / Harvard University

06 Video

1st. Clare Ong / Boston University
2nd. Yuting Li / Boston University


Jesse Costa / photographer, WBUR
Matt Campbell / Director North America, EPA
Erin Clark / photographer, The Boston Globe and BPPA 2022 Photographer of the Year